Brgy. Guadalupe was originally Sitio Lagu-Lagu and one of the many sitios of Barangay Gabas. Because of its distance of the center of the mother barangay, the earlier residents decided to separate so that basic goods, services and other benefits of a barangay could easily reach its residents.
It was in the year 1920 when Sitio Lagu-Lagu became Barangay Utod and was officially recognized by the Municipal Government of Baybay as one of its many barangays. The name Utod came from the old Baybayanon language which is “utod” that means “cut”. The name was chosen to signify that Sitio Lagu-Lagu was cut off from Brgy. Gabas and now a separate barangay.
In 1923, the first few families of Brgy. Utod, such as the Amihans, Bartolinis, Caintics, Romos, Silaos, Bulawans, Espinosas, Gundemaros, Nuñezes, and Poliquits, decided to build a chapel for its patron saint, the Nuesta Señora de Guadalupe, the same patron saint as that of Brgy. Gabas.
Pedro Caintic was the first Teniente del Barrio of Brgy. Utod, followed by Doroteo Caintic, Melitono Calipayan respectively.
In 1948, Catalino Peñalosa registered Brgy. Guadalupe as the new official name of Brgy. Utod. The name Guadalupe was derived from the name of its patron saint, the Nuesta Señora de Guadalupe.
Through the years, Brgy. Guadalupe’s population considerably increased due to its close proximity to Visayas State University. Many uni students and even professors reside in the boarding houses and apartments in the barangay.